Imogen Cooper, piano

Imogen Cooper, piano


Haydn: Sonata in C major Hob XVI/50 
Beethoven: Bagatelles Op.119 
Interval
Schoenberg: Six little pieces Op.19   
Beethoven: 33 Variations on a Waltz by Anton Diabelli

Internationally acclaimed pianist Imogen Cooper is regarded as one of the world’s finest interpreters of classical and romantic repertoire, with praise especially for her musical insight and superb technique. Last season saw her perform with the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle, Sydney Symphony with Simone Young and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, in addition to solo recitals in Boston, London and Australia.
Tonight Imogen Cooper explores one of Haydn’s more complex piano sonatas, composed during his second visit to London and after he had experienced the greater sonority of the Broadwood grand. She will bring the concert to a close with the Diabelli Variations, Beethoven’s unexpected and brilliant response to a simple challenge posed by the music publisher Anton Diabelli. Considered to be one of the two greatest sets of variations for keyboard along with J.S. Bach’s Goldberg Variations, this was described by Imogen Cooper’s teacher, Alfred Brendel, as ‘the greatest of all piano works’.

Duration: 1:55 with interval

Book Tickets

  • Thu 14 Jun 2018 7:30 PM £37.00/£27.00/£17.00/£15.00

Book Tickets

  • Thu 14 June 7:30 PM

People who bought tickets for Imogen Cooper, piano also bought tickets for...

  • family, music

    Monkeys, bears, socks and mud! Nick Cope sings about everything children are REALLY interested in, and you’re invited to join in! Ex indie-rocker frontman of T...

    Sat 30 Sep & Sat 21 Oct

  • music

    Great chamber music performed by the country’s finest musicians and ensembles in the stunning churches of St Marys, in the beautif...

    Sun 24 Sep, Sun 8 Oct, Sun 22 Oct, Sun 5 Nov, Sun 19 Nov & Sun 10 Dec

  • music

    Krysia Osostowicz, violin Daniel Tong, piano Beethoven Plus! emerged from Krysia and Daniel’s experience of working together on the ten Beethoven sonatas for...

    Fri 22 Sep

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue