Joaquin Achucarro, piano

Joaquin Achucarro, piano


Albeniz: Granada
Debussy: La Puerta Del Vino
Falla: Andaluza
Debussy: La Soirée dans Grenade
Falla: Hommage à Debussy
Albeniz: El Albaicín (Iberia)
Interval
Chopin: 24 Preludes Op. 28

Joaquín Achúcarro has been a commanding presence on the international stage since his victory in England at the 1959 Liverpool International Competition and subsequent debut with the London Symphony in the Royal Festival Hall. A contemporary of Alfred Brendel, Achúcarro now appears almost exclusively in his native Spain and the USA and we are extraordinarily lucky to be welcoming him back to SJE Arts.
In addition to the Spanish works in the performance, and Debussy’s two Grenada themed pieces, Achúcarro will be playing Chopin’s 24 Preludes . The composition of these date from 1838/9, the winter that Chopin and George Sand spent in Majorca, and where Chopin had with him a copy of J.S. Bach’s ‘The Well-temperted Clavier’.

Duration: 2:00 with interval

Book Tickets

  • Sat 28 Apr 2018 7:30 PM £37.00/£27.00/£17.00/£15.00

Book Tickets

  • Sat 28 April 7:30 PM

People who bought tickets for Joaquin Achucarro, piano also bought tickets for...

  • family, music

    Monkeys, bears, socks and mud! Nick Cope sings about everything children are REALLY interested in, and you’re invited to join in! Ex indie-rocker frontman of T...

    Sat 30 Sep & Sat 21 Oct

  • music

    Great chamber music performed by the country’s finest musicians and ensembles in the stunning churches of St Marys, in the beautif...

    Sun 24 Sep, Sun 8 Oct, Sun 22 Oct, Sun 5 Nov, Sun 19 Nov & Sun 10 Dec

  • music

    Krysia Osostowicz, violin Daniel Tong, piano Beethoven Plus! emerged from Krysia and Daniel’s experience of working together on the ten Beethoven sonatas for...

    Fri 22 Sep

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue