Oxford May Music: Festival Finale

Simon Blendis, Jack Liebeck and Alexander Sitkovetsky – violin; Simon Oswell – viola; Christian-Pierre La Marca, Richard Lester – cello ; Amandine Savary - piano

J.S. Bach - “Goldberg” Variations, BWV 988 (arranged for string trio by D. Sitkovetsky) C. Saint-Saens – Barcarolle for Piano Quartet in F Major, Op. 108 J. Brahms – Piano Quartet No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 25

The string trio arrangement by Dmitry Sitkovetsky of one of the world’s greatest pieces – Bach’s “Goldberg” variations – has become a favourite at Festivals throughout the world. We continue with Saint-Saens’ sparkling Barcarolle for Piano Quartet Op. 108; an old favourite, Brahms’ Piano Quartet No. 1 with its famous “Gypsy” Rondo, is a suitably celebratory conclusion to our tenth Festival!

There is no dress code.

No babies permitted

Duration: 2 hours with interval

Book Tickets

Book Tickets

Booking through Tickets Oxford has now Closed. Tickets can still be purchased online at www.oxfordmaymusic.co.uk/tickets or by calling 07973 838 507.

People who bought tickets for Oxford May Music: Festival Finale also bought tickets for...

  • music

    Oxford Pro Musica Singers presents two masterpieces: Allegri’s Miserere, one of the most iconic pieces of choral music and a subli...

    Thu 22 Mar

  • music

    The Marian Consort Merton College Girls’ Choir Rory McCleery              conductor Jackson                        Stabat Mater (first performance) Allegri...

    Fri 23 Mar

  • music

    James Lancelot (Organist Emeritus of Durham Cathedral) Bach               Passacaglia BWV 582 Buxtehude    Ach Herr, mich armen...

    Sat 24 Mar

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue