Oxford May Music: Four by four

Oxford May Music: Four by four

Silver-Garburg piano duo in Schubert & Mendelssohn Octet

Silver-Garburg Piano Duo; Jack Liebeck & Alexandra Raikhlina violin; Simon Oswell viola; Gemma Rosefeld cello

Schubert: Sonata in B-flat major, D617, for four hands at piano

Schubert: Fantasie in D minor, D940, for four hands at piano

Mendelssohn: Octet Op. 20 – arr. for four hands at piano and string quartet

Schubert wrote some of the greatest music for four hands at piano. Tonight we hear two excellent examples. The Mendelssohn Octet is a perennial favourite and has been heard at the Festival before – but never in this arrangement, for string quartet and four hands at piano.

Duration: 2 hours 15mins with interval

Book Tickets

  • Thu 3 May 8:00 PM £23 (Concessions £18)

Book Tickets

  • Thu 3 May 8:00 PM

Ticket includes entry to the preceding lecture at 5.30pm.

are provided through the Cavatina Chamber Music Trust scheme for all concerts, subject to availability. Please email tickets@oxfordmaymusic.co.uk to book.

People who bought tickets for Oxford May Music: Four by four also bought tickets for...

  • music

    Programme: Bartók: String Quartet no 2 in A minor, op 17, Sz67 Dvořák: String Quartet no 12 in F major, op 96 (“American”)

    Sun 25 Feb

  • music

    Oriel College is delighted to welcome classical guitarist Craig Ogden as our Visiting Musician for 2017-2018. Originally from Australia, Craig studied guitar f...

    Mon 26 Feb

  • music

    FINALE: Bernstein: 'Make your Garden Grow' from Candide 'Tonight' from West Side Story

    Fri 2 Mar

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue