The Remains of the Day

The Remains of the Day


2017 Nobel Prize winner Kazuo Ishiguro’s literarymasterpiece of undeclared love has entranced generations as a novel and film.

Oxford Playhouse is delighted to be co-producing this World Premiere stage production, adapted by one of Britain’s most exciting young writers, Barney Norris.

A deeply atmospheric drama about time and memory, loneliness and longing, The Remains of the Day depicts the morally-compromised truth behind a world of manicured gardens, formal dinners and grand houses. As the fires rage through England during and after the Second World War, we get an intimate glimpse into one man’s half-lived life, realised too late.

Age guideline 12+

Book Tickets

  • Tue 16 Apr 2019 7:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Wed 17 Apr 2019 7:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Thu 18 Apr 2019 2:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Thu 18 Apr 2019 7:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Fri 19 Apr 2019 8:00 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Sat 20 Apr 2019 2:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
  • Sat 20 Apr 2019 7:30 PM £30.00/£21.00/£15.00/£10.00
visit Oxford Playhouse website

An unmissable theatrical and literary treat.

Louise Chantal

Director/CEO

Book Tickets

  • Tue 16 April 7:30 PM
  • Wed 17 April 7:30 PM
  • Thu 18 April 2:30 PM
  • Thu 18 April 7:30 PM
  • Fri 19 April 8:00 PM
  • Sat 20 April 2:30 PM
  • Sat 20 April 7:30 PM

A Royal & Derngate, Northampton and Out of Joint co-production in association with Oxford Playhouse

Based on the book by Kazuo Ishiguro

Adapted by Barney Norris

Directed by Christopher Haydon

undefined

Full Circle and Enjoy get 50% off a pair of tickets for opening night or Saturday matinee.

People who bought tickets for The Remains of the Day also bought tickets for...

  • theatre

    On a glorious summer evening on the terrace of a stylish Rivera hotel, two couples are on honeymoon. As the pre-dinner martinis flow, fate deals a strange hand....

    Wadham College Gardens - Various Dates & Times 6th August - 18th August

  • music

    The Oxford Early Music Festival Subterfuge, scandals, and seafaring shenanigans. A riveting narrative of words and music to commemorate the 400th anniversary...

    Sun 15 Jul, Wed 25 Jul, Fri 3 & Wed 15 Aug

  • music

    Jack Gibbons’ 31st annual Oxford Summer Piano Series The acclaimed pianist and composer Jack Gibbons concludes his 31st annual Su...

    Wed 15 Aug

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue