The Schubert Series III – James Lisney, piano

The Schubert Series III – James Lisney, piano

Franz Schubert 

Sonata in E, D 157

Sonata in a, D 845

Sonata in B flat, D 960


Schubert first and last. James Lisney complements his traversal of the eleven completed piano sonatas by adding the incomplete Sonata in E from 1815 (the composer’s first surviving sonata project) as a counterpoint to the magisterial Sonata in B flat. The latter, much loved work is testament to Schubert’s profound confidence and positivity in drawing upon Beethoven’s heroic masterpieces (such as the Archduke Trio or the Emperor Concerto) without overwhelming his own unique voice. Is this, as Edith Vogel postulated, “Beethoven in heaven” – or Schubert’s commanding answer to his own question “Who can do anything after Beethoven”?

See also 17 November for the final concert in the Series.

SJE Arts International Piano Series 2017


Book Tickets

Book Tickets

Discount of 20%, centre tickets only, for all 4 concerts in the Schubert Series

SJE Season Tickets

Centre front £195

Centre mid £160

Centre rear £145

Side aisle (some restricted view) £100

Please telephone the box office on 01865 305 305 or visit our office at Oxford Playhouse to make a booking.

People who bought tickets for The Schubert Series III – James Lisney, piano also bought tickets for...

  • music

    Jocelyn Freeman – Piano with guest violinist Edmund Jones Beethoven Piano Sonata No 14 in C sharp minor “Moonlight” Prokofiev -...

    Sat 26 Aug

  • music

    London Haydn String Quartet Haydn String Quartet op.71 no.2 Beethoven String Quartet op.95 Season Ticket Price: £130. Please add a ticket for each concert to...

    Sun 27 Aug

  • family, music

    Monkeys, bears, socks and mud! Nick Cope sings about everything children are REALLY interested in, and you’re invited to join in! Ex indie-rocker frontman of T...

    Sun 27 Aug, Sat 2 - Fri 1 Sep, Sat 30 Sep & Sat 21 Oct

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue