Tákacs String Quartet


Mozart, Mendelssohn & Shostakovich

Mozart: Quartet in G K387

Shostakovich: Quartet no 4

Mendelssohn: Quartet in F minor op 80

It's a fair bet that any lover of chamber music will list the Tákacs String Quartet  amongst the world's finest ensembles so we're proud to be able to include them in our 120th season, and with what a programme! 

This well-known Mozart quartet is another of those he dedicated to Haydn. Shostakovich's Fourth Quartet incorporates Jewish folk influences - it had to be hidden away until it was safe for performance. The Mendelssohn F minor Quartet journeys in a darker world than his audience expected but we now know it as his late masterpiece.

Duration: 2 hours with interval

Book Tickets

  • Sun 11 Nov 3:00 PM £30.00

Book Tickets

  • Sun 11 November 3:00 PM

Young people aged 8 to 25 will be admitted free of charge to individual concerts (subject to ticket availability) – only available at the door.

Season ticket £105 for all 7 concerts. Click here to book. 

Wheelchair bookings via OCMS: oxfordchambermusicsociety@gmail.com


People who bought tickets for Tákacs String Quartet also bought tickets for...

  • music

    Ian Bostridge, tenor Giles Underwood, baritone Claire Booth, soprano Natalie Clein, 'cello Instruments of Time and Truth T...

    Fri 27 Apr

  • music

    When Drake set sail from Plymouth in 1577, he took with him four viol players who had little clue that this would be such an epic...

    Sat 28 Apr

  • music

    Albeniz: Granada Debussy: La Puerta Del Vino Falla: Andaluza Debussy: La Soirée dans Grenade Falla: Hommage à Debussy Albeniz: El Albaicín (Iberia) Interval Cho...

    Sat 28 Apr

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue