Treasure Island

Treasure Island


Pirates and parrots, murder and maps, treasure and treason . . . 
 
In Robert Louis Stevenson’s classic adventure, young Jim Hawkins is living with her grandma in the Admiral Benbow Inn when their lives are interrupted by the arrival of a sinister stranger with a deadly secret. 
 
Jim’s life takes a new turn as she and Long John Silver set sail for a mysterious and haunted island in search of long-lost treasure. 
 
This beloved coming-of-age tale has been transformed for the stage for the National Theatre in a masterful adaptation by acclaimed playwright Bryony Lavery. In Oxford Theatre Guild’s vibrant production, the story takes on new energy as we weave in elements of parkour and puppetry to bring the adventure to life in the heart of one of Oxford’s most beautiful college gardens. 
 
This amateur production of Treasure Island (Lavery) is presented by special arrangement with SAMUEL FRENCH, LTD. 

Group Bookings

Buy 7 tickets, get the 8th Ticket Free (applies automatically in your basket.)

Duration: 2 hours 30mins with interval

Book Tickets

  • Tue 10 Jul 8:00 PM £15 (Concessions Available)
  • Wed 11 Jul 8:00 PM £15 (Concessions Available)
  • Thu 12 Jul 8:00 PM £15 (Concessions Available)
  • Fri 13 Jul 8:00 PM £15 (Concessions Available)
  • Sat 14 Jul 2:30 PM £12 (Concessions Available)
  • Sat 14 Jul 8:00 PM £15 (Concessions Available)
  • Mon 16 Jul 8:00 PM £15 (Concessions Available)
  • Tue 17 Jul 8:00 PM £15 (Concessions Available)
  • Wed 18 Jul 8:00 PM £15 (Concessions Available)
  • Thu 19 Jul 8:00 PM £15 (Concessions Available)
  • Fri 20 Jul 8:00 PM £15 (Concessions Available)
  • Sat 21 Jul 8:00 PM £15 (Concessions Available)

Book Tickets

  • Tue 10 July 8:00 PM
  • Wed 11 July 8:00 PM
  • Thu 12 July 8:00 PM
  • Fri 13 July 8:00 PM
  • Sat 14 July 2:30 PM
  • Sat 14 July 8:00 PM
  • Mon 16 July 8:00 PM

This is an outdoor production, please dress warmly. Blankets are available for hire. Chairs with backs (no cushions) are provided. Audience seating is on a gentle slope. Parts of the action will be on raised staging.

No lower age limit for attendance but parents are advised to accompany younger children. Please note that there will be bangs, flashes and realistic stage fighting.

An alternative indoor venue with reduced capacity is available in the event of rain. Refunds or tickets for other nights will be offered to any audience members who cannot be accommodated.

No picnics allowed in the garden but refreshments for sale on site.

People who bought tickets for Treasure Island also bought tickets for...

  • theatre

    "But wouldn't you like to be free to be happy in some other way? In your own way … not in everybody else's way." Set 600 years in the future, ‘Brave New World’...

    Tue 8 - Sat 12 May

  • theatre

    B+ is a series of 3 short plays written by Roisin Moriarty which explore what it means to be LGBTQ+ both as an individual and as p...

    Sun 27 May

  • theatre

    A young, louche King and his three wastrel cohorts. Swept along by the indulgences and hedonism of a childhood lived in the 1960s...

    Various Dates & Times 2nd - 31st July

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue